top of page

Novels for A1/A2 ESL Teens

Things pass by so quickly. My master’s study is giving assignments left and right, developing lesson plans, and my blog posts are all taking up time. In this post, I wasn’t entirely sure what to write about. Should I write about the books I am currently developing lesson plans for, or interesting assignments that I am receiving in my classes, or showing my slides for the lessons I have been creating?



So, I have decided to bring you along while I help decide on books for a new group of teenage students that I just found with beginner level English.


I was having difficulty choosing books for them. There is a wide age gap between them, but they wanted to be in the same group. Since I use literature to teach people English, choosing the right novels or book series to suite two teens with a wider age gap was a little bit tricky.


Knowing of a few books that might be appropriate for their age and level, I began my research on novels for A1/A2 Teen learners.


Let’s take a look at the books I decided to stick with, and some ideas for activities. 😊


1. “The Secret Zoo”, by Bryan Chick

I know that sometimes adults and older teens are skeptical about reading books meant for 10-year-old children but hear me out. This book has an abundance of vocabulary, and its storyline is not so complex that an English language learner might get confused while reading it.


Here are some very interesting and fun ways to develop their vocabulary skills:







I want my students in the beginning to have a basic understanding of English, and books like this allow me to connect with my students in a friendly, fun environment. The level of the book allows them to understand more from what they are reading, while learning grammar and vocabulary during the lesson.


2. “Dragons in a Bag”, by Zetta Elliott

Again, this is a magical fantasy story about a boy who is delivering dragon eggs to a magic world. There are so many activities that I can already see us doing in the classroom that would enhance their language.


For example:






3. “Charlotte’s Web”, by E.B. White

This book is an incredible piece of literature that I remember having when I was a child. I loved the story. I remember watching the movie and loving the friendship and bond between two very different creatures. This book exemplifies the beauty of friendship and differences. To see the good in every creature.


Here are some cool ideas for activities:






I know this was a shorter article, but I am excited to see which book my students choose and where this new chapter of learning will begin. 😊


Have a wonderful week! Bye! 😊


85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page